Seven successive defeats for Southwell seconds
1:08pm Wed Jun 19, 2013
Captain David Pipes led the way as Collingham 1sts overcame Hyson Green Carrington 1sts in Division B of the South Notts League in their first South Notts League match since former England cricketer Mike Gatting officially opened the club’s new pavilion and pitch.
Alex Milton hits out for Southwell 2nds in their Division E defeat at Farndon. 150613JT3-66
Alex Milton hits out for Southwell 2nds in their Division E defeat at Farndon. 150613JT3-66
Pipes had figures of four for 32, restricting Hyson Green to 139 for nine.

The captain continued his fine form at the crease when he struck 46 not out. Oliver Dyson also scored 47.

Their efforts steered Collingham to a five-wicket win, moving the home team up to third place in the table.

Steve Wright’s bowling helped Southwell 1sts record their second victory of the season at the expense of struggling Keyworth 1sts.

Wright claimed five wickets to bowl the visitors out for 133.

Grant McCarthy top scored on 48 as Southwell won by seven wickets in the 34th over. Tim Green also scored 32 and Alistair Haynes added 27.

In Division C, second-placed Bottesford 1sts proved too strong for Thurgarton 1sts, whose batting collapsed.

Thurgarton skipper Colin Cliff chose to bowl on a green-looking wicket and the decision paid off as Christian Dutton took three wickets, and Sam Cliff and Aaron Singh two each to put the visitors on top.

But Bottesford’s Dave Allen hit a late 49 and combined with Nicholas Silverwood (86) to leave Thurgarton needing 199 to win.

Cliff (53) and Singh (21) started the run chase, but after they were dismissed by Alasdair Culpin the remaining batsmen fell for 21 runs to hand the home side a 53-run victory.

Openers Ben Lee and Shaun Polley both scored 26 as Hoveringham 1sts lost to Plumtree 2nds.

Batting first, Hoveringham slumped from 54 for one to 94 for eight. Scott Shore scored 19, but the home team were all out for 128.

Murray de Bank took two wickets for 27, but Plumtree won by seven wickets.

In Division E, half-centuries from Daniel Hubbard and Jason Johnson gave Farndon 1sts a comfortable nine-wicket win over Southwell 2nds to go top of the table.

Southwell were restricted to 115 for nine, thanks to Jason Lam’s five for 22.

Hubbard hit 55 and Johnson 53 as the duo completed a ten-wicket victory inside 18 overs.

It was Southwell’s seventh straight defeat of the season.

Fiskerton 1sts lost at home to second-placed Hickling 1sts by 32 runs.

Andy Laughton and Steve Collington took three wickets as Hickling totalled 132 for nine.

Despite Laughton scoring 25 and David Hedge 29, Fiskerton were bowled out for 100, leaving them second from bottom of the table.

Ben Lambourne struck ten boundaries as Whatton & Aslockton defeated third-placed Attenborough 1sts.

Lambourne hit 69 and Adrian Curzon 84 as Whatton reached 180 for five.

Alex White took three early wickets and Simon Wallis also claiming three wickets as the home side totalled 146 for eight.

Please note: If this is your first comment on the new system, you are required to verify your email address before your comment will appear.
blog comments powered by Disqus
To report an inappropriate reaction, please click this link


Disclaimer | Website Designed and Maintained by Advertiser Web Services

The Newark Advertiser Co Ltd website and the contents of its pages are © Advertiser Media Group, Unit 9 & 10 Halifax Court, Fernwood Business Park, Cross Lane, Newark, Notts, NG24 3JP. Reproduction in any form, printing or downloading of part or all of the contents is forbidden without specific written authorisation from the company. No part of contents of the Newark Advertiser Co Ltd website may be reproduced on or transmitted to or stored in any other website or other form of electronic retrieval system.